Surveybe reviews

door Economic Development Initiatives

Filteren op:

Gemiddelde scores

  • In totaal
    4.3/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4.2/5
  • Klantenservice
    4.6/5

Over Surveybe

Surveybe is a sophisticated yet easy-to-use CAPI survey software suite used for both simple and complex (LSMS style) data collection.

Meer informatie over Surveybe

10 van %{reviews_total} reviews worden weergegeven

Pedro B.
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 4/2/2016

"Great software for survey data collection!"

Opmerkingen: Overall we had a great experience with SurveyBe and its customer service team. While exploring options of different programs they were quite attentive and responsive to all of our questions and requests. We used SurveyBe for health surveys in El Salvador and we are now planning on using it in some other countries as well. Survey Design & Programming
Once we got the license, we really had the survey up and running in less than two weeks, so it was very easy to design and make changes to the survey.
In the field
I believe the best experience we had with SurveyBe was once we had it deployed in the field with our interviewers, none of them had prior experience with the software and they got the hang of it in less than a week. We used tablets with an attachable keyboard, but they find it more useful to work with the keyboard, as with touchscreen it was sometimes difficult to select items in drop-down menus or to scroll vertically or horizontally the screen.
Data Quality & Analysis
We really loved that SurveyBe allowed us to have some basic data quality validations in the field, as this reduced the need of revisits, and it helped interviewers and supervisors to learn on the field of simple but key mistakes. Moreover, once the data is transmitted to HQ it was a breeze to get it into Stata format for analysis.
Technical Support
We did get a one year tech-support from SurveyBe and we find it really useful whenever we had a question their response was quick and comprehensive. The tech support though is probably more suitable if you don't have prior experience with the software.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Economic Development Initiatives op 5/2/2016

Thanks Pedro - its great to hear of the success in El Salvador and the plans to roll-out use of surveybe into other countries in the region. We are especially pleased to hear that the enumerators quickly became proficient in use of the software.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 4/2/2016
Munenobu I.
Economist
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 5/2/2016

"A very good computer assisted personal interviewing (CAPI) software and customer service"

Opmerkingen: We, Index Based Livestock Insurance (IBLI) Project http://ibli.ilri.org/ at International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI) has been working with Surveybe from 2011 for our several household-level socioeconomic panel surveys for study uptake and impact of IBLI, livestock mortality history, and herd migration.
We have been very happy with functionality of Surveybe Designer and Implementer and Surveybe's customer support from our initial process in switching from paper based questionnaire to surveybe in 2011 to continuous process in accommodating new features and trouble shooting.
We studied ODK Collect and CSPro as alternatives to Surveybe in 2015 to catch up the recent development in computer assisted personal interviewing (CAPI) software. The most important advantage of surveybe for us is that it allows us to show a table such as household member roster (rows are members, columns are name, age, etc) and livestock accounting (rows are animal type and sex and columns are loss, intake, offtake, birth, slaughter over a year). We thought it is important to show such a table in one screen so that enumerators can see and understand a big picture on what is going on rather than recording each answer without knowing and thinking a big picture of related answers. We found that ODK collect did not have this functionality and ODK Survey was still in alpha stage. CSPro had this functionality but we did not find any strong reason to switch from Suverybe to CSPro given our good experience with Surveybe.
We could strongly recommend to use Surveybe (or consider as one of options at least) to anyone who implements household-level socioeconomic survey.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Economic Development Initiatives op 9/2/2016

Thank you Munenobu for your review. Certainly your appreciation of surveybe roster functionality and the full range of features makes for pleasant reading for our teams. Thanks again.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 5/2/2016
Ndiaye M.
Senior CAPI
Computersoftware, 13-50 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 6-12 maanden
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    3/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    7/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 10/1/2017

"Improve the system for transferring collected data on software Surveybe"

Opmerkingen: Surveybe is very easy to use.
What has most marked me is the flexibility of the team members, their availability at any time, they can intervene at any time to help in case of a problem.
It is a secure software I speak knowingly. I am a software engineer specializing in JAVA / J2EE.
When I was Senior Capi at IDG I found that Surveybe is an application developed in JAVA, so I noticed the security and ease of installation in the tablets used.
However, I have a suggestion that can help you improve your product. It is necessary to add a button that will allow with a click to transfer the collected data directly to a server or an online database.

Pluspunten: -It is easy . You don't need any training to use it
-and data security

Minpunten: The system of data catch up after entry

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 10/1/2017
Stacy M.
Research Assistant
  • Totaalscore
    3/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    3/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Klantenondersteuning
    3/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 11/2/2016

"It's fairly intuitive for basic uses - you do have to spend some time learning more complex features"

Opmerkingen: Overall - it's fairly easy to use. Our enumerators learned it rather quickly. Takes some time to get a survey programmed. I was doing the survey in French and English - so I like the way it clearly linked a question in English with a question in French. However, when using a language that requires accents, it's a bit tedious. You have remember to keep changing the coding on the language sheet, if you opt to translate using it. Also, none of the pre-programmed buttons could be translated, and error messages were all in English. So - our enumerators (only French speakers) couldn't understand the messages when they had an error. Also, one of the most frustrating features is that enumerators couldn't use the touch screen on their tablets to scroll through the survey questions. They could only use their stylus on the scroll bar - which is quite small on a tablet screen. I'd say if you're doing your survey in English only - its a pretty good software. But - you may want to explore other options (I haven't) if you want better multi-language functionality.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 11/2/2016
Solomon M.
Research Associate
  • Totaalscore
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 27/1/2016

" I used this software for more than three big survey in Tanzania, Ethiopia and Uganda."

Opmerkingen: Pros: - It is very easy to use by the enumerators/ implementer software
- Easy to design
- Nice interface
Cons: - It takes long time (3 to 5 mints) to open the program
-it works only on window. Please work for android
One big thing is that: In the implementer software , once you write the ID it is impossible to amend . Please make it flexible

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Economic Development Initiatives op 27/1/2016

Indeed surveybe is designed to be as easy to use as possible and we are pleased you have noted this as a real strength.

The Android version will be released in February 2016! Details to follow on this website and/or contact us for more information. [email protected]

The time taken to open that you mention is not typical and there may be questionnaire design reasons for it that we would be happy to help/advise with; however this is mostly driven by factors such as hardware specification and processing speed.

Re: ID's our flexibility to allow designers to define their own unique identifiers using a broad range of options - from enumerator name to dates, pre-loaded or auto-numbered ID's and so on - does mean that you can't edit once selected in field to minimise the risk of generating duplicate respondent interview files which would compromise your dataset.

Thanks for taking the time to review and we look forward to hearing about your next project using surveybe.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 27/1/2016
Beverly L.
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    5/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 4/2/2016

"Easy to Use, Easy to Train Others, Fab Support Team"

Opmerkingen: I have built some pretty complex questionnaires for clients in several countries worldwide and used Surveybe for household and facility type surveys in both agriculture and health fields. I have found it really easy to get the hang of and it allows me to create rosters really easy. The interviewer interface is also pretty good and training of TOTs or directly with interviewers has not been hard at all. I have played with other products, with less success and less ability to get them to do what I want. I have also seen the difficulty that colleagues have had in building questionnaires in several other software. Another thing I didn't like about others was having my data based on their servers. Having used Surveybe a lot, I know that you can design your questionnaires in many different ways... I once did find it slow when I built a questionnaire with lots of yes/no boolean questions and many layers, however, when I discussed this with support team they showed me a far more efficient method of design that totally alleviated that problem. I have always found support to be very helpful and knowledgeable. Looking forward to the android version too!

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Economic Development Initiatives op 4/2/2016

Thank you Beverly. We are pleased to hear that you have successfully deployed surveybe on multiple projects. We look forward to hearing about your next one in due course.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 4/2/2016
Chikako Y.
  • Totaalscore
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 4/2/2016

"easy to do basic things, but can be challenging to do complicated things"

Opmerkingen: pros: relatively easy to understand how to use basic functions. Customer service is good.
cons: not so easy to use advanced functions particularly for those who are not familiar with SQL. It sometimes takes time to receive a reply from customer service for complicated questions.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Economic Development Initiatives op 4/2/2016

Thank you for your review.
By their very nature complicated things, in any field are challenging. It is a strength of Surveybe that the software is developed in such a way as to provide the capacity and flexibility for Researchers to design their research projects in their preferred way - no matter how complicated the questionnaire structure will be as a result. The power of SQL is such that it can be used to enable this to happen and then, in combination with the ease of use of surveybe which you positively identified, the researchers' vision can be realised.
Our support team do work on a personalised basis with surveybe users and if the questionnaire design is complex then, in order to provide a full response, we first need to understand the particulars of the questionnaire and project which can take some time. In the vast majority of instances this does mean that the first reply is sufficiently comprehensive to allow users to progress without further help on that issue.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 4/2/2016
Vijesh K.
Schoolleiding, 51-200 werknemers
Heeft de software gebruikt voor: 1-5 maanden
  • Totaalscore
    5/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    4/5
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    5/5
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    9/10
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 14/8/2016

"'Simple, Flexible CAPI Software with Excellent Consumer Support!'"

Opmerkingen: I used Surveybe to conduct an urban household survey in Indonesia during Feb-April 2016. It was the first time computer-assisted personal interviews (CAPI) were carried out in our department, and I am not sure whether I would ever return to a paper-based one. Even when nobody in our team was familiar with SQL programming, we could design the questionnaire without trouble and within a relatively short time frame (less than in 15 days). Flexibility in designing questionnaires was one of the major pros. The enumerators really liked it as we could switch back and forth between English and Bahasa Indonesia versions (leading to better understanding of the questions). Our smooth run with CAPI could be attributed mainly to the fabulous support team of Surveybe, who were there to clear out all our questions regarding designing the questionnaire and implementing it. When I was conducting the survey, the programme was suitable for tablets with Microsoft Windows as OS. Due to limited availability of power bank chargers, we resorted to tablets with attachable keyboard. However, it was sometimes difficult to scroll vertically and horizontally on the screen. We had to compromise with respect to quality of tablets (available in the study area), and I am glad to see that Surveybe is available now for the Android platform too. Nevertheless, one may think of taking some expert help (or training) to use Surveybe designer software, if the questionnaire is complex (e.g., with reference tables with panel data, inbuilt choice cards etc.).

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 14/8/2016
Lindsey R.
Study Coordinator
  • Totaalscore
    4/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Klantenondersteuning
    5/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 12/2/2016

"A good option for data collection for complex socioeconomic surveys"

Opmerkingen: Pros: It's possible to set up complex data structures, rosters, skip patterns and data checks within a fairly simple and easy to learn framework. The use of SQL gives a lot of flexibility and scope to the design of a questionnaire. Very user friendly data output in Stata with a logical data structure, fully labelled variables and values. Multi-language option which allows you to programme one questionnaire but to switch between languages in the Implementer. Cons: The designer interface can be a bit clunky to use sometimes and can result in repetitive tasks that feel like they could be more easily programmed in another format (this is a trade-off of the simplicity of designing the basic questionnaire - it can start to feel a bit tedious). Experience with the software: I have used Surveybe to build more than 15 household, school and teacher questionnaires.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 12/2/2016
Tomoya M.
Assistant Professor
  • Totaalscore
    3/5
  • Gebruiksgemak
    4/5
  • Functies en functionaliteit
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Klantenondersteuning
    4/5
  • Waar voor je geld
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling
    Zonder beoordeling
  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 31/1/2016

"Easy but slow"

Opmerkingen: Good: Easy to make a questionnaire with simple structure. Very nice and quick customer services.
Bad: Slow and too slow sometimes. Poor contents of the user manual. Difficult or not possible to implement some of the things which can be done by the CSPro.

Antwoord van de leverancier

van Economic Development Initiatives op 4/2/2016

Thanks for your review, we are pleased that you have found Surveybe easy to use and enjoy the benefits of liaising our client-facing teams.
We are surprised to read about the speed and design limitations that you mention as surveybe provides one of the largest suites of functionality in questionnaire design available.
We would be grateful if you could share further details with us regarding your concerns so we can advise on design options to overcome them.

  • Bron van de reviewer 
  • Beoordeeld op 31/1/2016